Je suis en France!

by chelseyengelhard

Twenty-two hours of traveling later, and here I am: Nantes! I probably unknowingly sold my soul in order to access the Wi-Fi to write this post, but what can I say, I like to live on the edge.

I woke up Sunday morning knowing that my life would soon change, and it was both an exciting and terrifying feeling. I managed to fit four months of my life into a suitcase (which measured at exactly 50.0 pounds), a carry on, and a backpack. I’ve never had so much trouble choosing which shoes to bring in my life.

My mom dropped me off at the airport at 10:30, and after a tearful goodbye, my journey began. I maneuvered my way through both the Chicago and Madrid airports. Mike arrived for his semester in Madrid a week ago, and since I had a long layover, we met up at the airport (sans technology, might I add). We took the metro to Getafe, which is where his university and dorm are located. I was so thankful to both see my bearded babe and not sit in an airport for eight hours. It was awesome to see where he’ll be living for the next few months. I can’t wait to explore more of Madrid – and Europe, for that matter – with him!

After I went through security again in Madrid, I waited until my final flight to Nantes. By that point, I was desperate for a shower and sleep. I only slept an hour and a half on my eight hour flight from Chicago to Madrid. I envy those who can sleep anywhere, especially airplanes. “Oh, you slept the entire eight hour flight? Please, continue to tell me how great it was to tune out those screaming babies and that one girl singing Disney songs in Spanish at 5am.” Anyway, I went through my gate expecting to immediately board the plane, but found a bus at the end of the tunnel instead, which transported us to one of those tiny airplanes you board from the outside. I felt so European! The flight was only an hour long. The Nantes airport is about the size of the Fargo airport, which surprised me, since Nantes is the 6th largest city in France.

The last leg of my journey was getting to my hotel. Since I couldn’t check into my dorm past 4:00pm, I had to get a hotel room and check in the next day. Thankfully, there were taxis already at the airport. The taxi driver and I talked in French the entire way to the hotel (about a 20 minute drive). He said my French was good for only taking it for two years, which absolutely thrilled me!

The hotel is small and quaint. The check in area is on the third floor, which wouldn’t have been a problem if it weren’t for the absence of an elevator and a narrow, winding staircase. I had to carry my luggage all the way up the stairs. I was panting and sweating by the time I got to the check in. I told the ladies waiting there, “J’ai besoin de faire du gym” (I need to work out) and they laughed, which also thrilled me. I’ve been told the French will not smile or laugh unless something truly amuses them. My room is simple with a bed, small desk, and a sink. The shower is in the hallway and is the size of a broom cupboard, and the toilet is down the hall in a separate room. It’s all part of the experience. 

So far, so good, minus the jet lag (it is currently 3:18am here and I’m wide awake). Tomorrow I go to my university and check into my dorm. It’s all becoming real to me now. I’m in FRANCE. I can’t wait to see what else is in store!